Does college even matter?

tumblr_mbr81j9aWF1qery84College hasn’t been easy lately. I’ve been getting busier and busier each day, and most of the time I have emotional breakdowns due to stress and peer pressure. Sometimes I go through a state of existential crisis. I wonder what’s the point of it all—I go to college, get good grades, graduate, get a job, and then what? grow old and die? wow, sounds like a boring life all planned out.

I don’t understand why most students (including me and my friends) are always pressured to get high grades. I mean, sure, getting good grades is cool, but isn’t education suppose to encourage us to learn rather than to pressure us to get high scores that won’t even matter 10 years from now?  All I did was memorize. Memorize this, memorize that. I hate it.

aoz8V30_460s_v1

The education system seems wrong to me. And sometimes I think society is too. Professors often pressure their students to get good grades, but I think what they should be really teaching is how we should have good values. It annoys me is so much how some smart people think they are so great. They think they are better than everyone and look down at people who have lower grades than them as if they’re idiots. Why do they have to do that? Why do they have to make people feel less than who they are? It’s so cruel. My mother and brothers told me that in the real world, all that matters is humility and hard work. Heck, one of my brothers even dropped out of college and he’s  now working in a big company in the middle east. I used to consider of dropping out too. But I feel like I’m not ready to face the big world out there, so I think I’ll just finish my studies first.

Right now, I just want to focus on doing the things I love to do. Of course I’ll still focus on my studies, but I should also constantly remind myself that I shouldn’t be too stressed about it. After all, it’s not my grades and failures that define my future. What defines me is my personality, passions and dreams.

 

Drop some love

