Dauntless

Image

“I am selfless. I am brave.” 

Beatrice (or more commonly known as “Tris”) is the main character in Veronica Roth’s hit book trilogy, Divergent. Tris is the type of girl who is unpredictable. She is intelligent, selfless and most of all, fearless. I truly admire the way Veronica Roth carved out her personality; because if she was real person, then I wouldn’t mind on meeting her and ask for some advice.

Now as much as I want to further elaborate on why I choose Tris as one of the bravest fictional characters, I’m not really into giving out a lot of spoilers to those who haven’t read the books yet (trust me, it’s really worth to read!!). So instead, I listed out two notable brave acts of Tris Prior:

Image

First, is having the courage to get out of your comfort zone. There were many times wherein Tris showed this act in the books; and I think it should also serve as a reminder that, we too, should destroy our walls and just explore.

And second, is not being afraid to fail. In the books, Tris always had to face some major obstacles before reaching her goal. It was tough; and just like any protagonist, she also had downfalls—but that didn’t stop her.

“If you are really one of us, it won’t matter to you that you might fail. And if it does, you are a coward.” 

Sometimes failure is the reason behind our low self-esteem. We are often afraid to fail because we think people might judge us or we don’t want people to be disappointed. Thinking about it just keeps pushing us down to rock bottom and constantly deflates our self-esteem. Now, is the time to change that. Perhaps it’s time we take it as a challenge. A challenge wherein we are more motivated to try and try again till we succeed.

Image

Image

“Fear doesn’t shut you down; it wakes you up. I’ve seen it. It’s fascinating.” 

Someday, I hope to become fearless too. But then again, “Becoming fearless isn’t the point. That’s impossible. It’s learning how to control your fear, and how to be free from it.” -Tris Prior.

 Image Sources: Photo 1 || Photo 2 || Photo 3 & 4

Image

2 thoughts on “Dauntless

    • ohh same here!! I’m currently re-reading divergent and insurgent again before I move on to allegiant hehe.

      Thanks you, Arriane! Your comment means so much to me <3

Drop some love

